Governance, Management and Organisation of HSBA

Governance, Management and Organisation of HSBA

The members of the University and its panels are constantly working to improve what it offers and the processes that run them, as well as on innovative ideas for the further development of the HSBA. This work strives to build a dialogue between scholarly and practical commercial knowledge to significantly contribute to the professional success of its students, and to the competitiveness of their collaborating businesses. HSBA panels are the University Council, the University Board, the Board of Governors and the Board of Trustees.


The University is supported financially by the “HSBA Hamburg School of Business Administration non-profit GmbH (HSBA gGmbH), whose sole shareholder is the “Foundation for Advancing HSBA”.


The "Foundation for Advancing HSBA Hamburg School of Business Administration" is the sole shareholder of the HSBA gGmbH. The Foundation's most important bodies include the Board of Trustees and the Board of Governors.

Alongside its role as the shareholder, the Foundation finances HSBA's development, particularly in the fields of research and international collaboration.

University Management

University management is tasked with the preparation of resolutions for its panels, University management and the development of strategies to continue the advancement of HSBA.

The University management comprises the President, the Vice-Presidents, the Executive Directors and the Director of Finance and the Director of Business Development of the University.

The HSBA gGmbH is informed of all University management resolutions by the Executive Directors of the University.

Members of the University Management

President & Chairwoman of the Board of Management Prof. Dr. Insa Sjurts
Director Quality & Infrastructure, Managing Director Dr. Immo Schmidt-Jortzig
Vice President Research & International Affairs Prof. Dr. Dirk Max Johns
Vice President Teaching & Didactics Prof. Dr. Alkis Otto
Director Business Development Alexander Freier
Director Finance & Controlling N.N.

University Council

The highest decision-making body at HSBA is the university council. The university council elects the President and the Course Heads and enacts strategic matters like the launch of new study programmes or research priorities.

The members of the University Council are:

  • the President as Chairperson
  • the Vice President for Teaching, Quality Assurance and Continuing Education,
  • the Vice President for Research and International Affairs, and
  • four further representatives of the group of professors,
  • one representative of the teaching staff,
  • one representative of the scientific and non-scientific staff,
  • one representative of the students.

The following participate in the meetings of the University Council in an advisory capacity

  • the managing director,
  • the Diversity Officer,
  • one professor from each of the departments that are not represented on the University Council

Members of the University Council

Members Prof. Dr. Daniela Eisele-Wijnbergen
  Prof. Dr. Sarah Jastram
  Prof. Dr. Max Johns
  Prof. Dr. André Küster Simic
  Prof. Dr. Alkis Otto
  Prof. Dr. Insa Sjurts
  Prof. Dr. Philipp Zaeh
Representative of the teaching staff Dr. Harriet Reichstein-Scholz
Representative of the non-scientific staff Dr. Sascha Prostka
Rrepresentative of the students Jakob Deichmann

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors is a form of supervisory board for HSBA management. It provides support to the University in addressing commercial issues and consists of members of the Board of Trustees.

Members of the Board of Governors

Dr. Hariolf Wenzler (Vorsitz) CEO YPOG (and former Managing Director Bucerius Law School)
Dr. Stefan Behn Former Member of the Board Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG
Dr. Joh. Christian Jacobs Board Member Joh. Jacobs & Co.
Dr. Johann Killinger Managing Director Buss Group GmbH & Co. KG
Astrid Nissen-Schmidt Partner Assurance FREIHEIT GmbH WPG

Board of Trustees

HSBA has the backing of business in Hamburg's city region. We were founded to respond to the needs of business - our work is based on the experience of high-ranking representatives from the world of business. The university's most important advisory committee is the board of trustees, whose members are committed to HSBA and work to support and promote it.

Members of the Board of Trustees

Andreas Bartmann Managing Director Globetrotter Ausrüstung GmbH
Dr. Stefan Behn former Member of the Executive Board Hamburger Hafen und Logistik AG
Alexander Birken Chairman Otto (GmbH & Co KG) ,
Christopher Conzen former Managing Director Miles GmbH
Dr. Leberecht Funk Managing Partner Funk Gruppe GmbH
Silke Grimm Member of the Executive Board Euler Hermes Deutschland AG
Dr. Joh. Christian Jacobs Chairman Joh. Jacobs & Co.
Dr. Johann Killinger Managing Director Buss Group GmbH & Co. KG
Stefan Knoll Member of the Management Deutsche Bank AG
Konrad Gruner Deputy Chairman HSBA Alumni Association
Gunter Mengers Chairman Versammlung Eines Ehrbaren Kaufmanns zu Hamburg e. V.
Kai Möhrle Managing Director Kai Möhrle Gesellschaft für Grundstücksentwicklung mbH & Co. KG
Astrid Nissen-Schmidt Managing Director Auren GmbH Wirtschaftsprüfungsgesellschaft
Minou Tikrani Managing Director Konstruktiv PR-Beratungsgesellschaft mbH
Dr. Hariolf Wenzler Chief Executive Officer YPOG